Wrapping It Up!

It’s that time of year again. I need to gather up all the loose ends and put the girls’ final grades together. The homeschool application once again waits for the blanks to be filled. This is probably my least favorite part of homeschooling in Louisiana. It always leads to stress and worries. I double-check everything before stuffing it all in the envelope but once it’s in the mail, I wonder.

  1. “Did I fill in all the blanks correctly?”
  2. “Did I forget one of the examples of their work?”

I could fill it in online…if I could figure out how the system works. That might save some of the stress. But I have yet to figure out how to load all the pdf files into an email that won’t overload my system. I imagine all the stress might be magnified this year since I’m officially an author now.

Summer School

I had originally planned to do dedicated summer school work. That idea has since been chucked out of the window. We’ll finish up what we’re working on and then stop for a summer break. This year has been harrowing in many ways and we all need the rest. Shi has chosen to continue her study of Latin and Advanced Algebra on her own while Ro is continuing in her math books. They have really matured a lot over the last year. Not only are they working hard on their education, they’ve taken on household chores without being asked. Shi has a summer job at Acadian Baptist Center which is going well so far. All these things are awesome examples of how they’ve grown and it makes me smile. When a child learns to love learning…

Happenings

While they are busy doing their summer things, I’ll be doing mine. School planning, book revisions, sewing lessons for a couple of friends, and a small writers workshop fill my to-do list. I’m looking forward to all of them! What do you look forward to in the summer months? Do you teach your students through the summer? If so, do you use a dedicated learning program, a Charlotte Mason Method type of learning, or something else? I’d love to hear from you.

Proverbs 9:9 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

Give to a wise man, and he grows still wiser;
teach a righteous man, and he will learn still more.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

