Dreaming of Summer

When does the dreaming start for you? Personally, I live for autumn. But our girls eagerly look forward to those warm summer months when they can do more with their friends. Camp, sleep-overs, bonfires, fireworks, swimming, water balloons, making s’mores… You name a summer activity and it’s almost a sure bet they’ll be up for it. And they start dreaming of those days long before the traditional school year is finished.

Ah! How Fast They Grow!

Shi will be working this summer. She’s looking forward to it. Ro, on the other hand, is certain she’ll be bored out of her mind without her sister. So I’ve been brainstorming about different activities she might find interesting.

Summer Learning Fun

I have a few workbooks that teach science through fun experiments. I thought we might use some of those. I also like to tackle geography during the summer months. Studying different cultures keeps us interested in learning. You could check out these similar books on kitchen science at Amazon. Some of them look really interesting! If I can, I’ll be trying to update my own stash of books with a couple of these.

As for hands-on crafts and the like, our braided rug project is still going and probably will be for some time. We’ll work on that and look into some other types of crafts. Ro is also interested in electricity and tinkering so I’ll try to work in some projects that focus on those two things. My son, as well as my dad, have left enough odds and ends and bits lying around our property that might make interesting project starters.

What About You?

What kind of things do you do during the summer to keep your students busy and occupied? I’d love to hear from you.

My Apologies!

I’m sorry I skipped out last week. I’ve been putting my author website together. Being a dedicated author takes a lot of time, at least in the initial set-up online. No excuse, I suppose. I just need to get better at organizing my day…when I finally figure out what that entails. Feel free to check it out. I’ll be adding a subscribe button either today or tomorrow, depending on the quality of our internet signal. If you think you’d like to read about my writing journey, I’ll be posting there tomorrow.

So…

I do have something special for you guys today. It’s a free, downloadable wallpaper. Feel free to share it. All I ask is that you link back to this post or my deviantArt gallery when you do share. Thanks so much for reading!

Dreaming of Summer

“Dreaming of Summer” can be downloaded by right-clicking the image. You can also visit my gallery at http://artcreationist.deviantart.com/art/Dreaming-of-Summer-682577004 and download it without the copyright notice at the bottom. Whichever you decide, I simply ask that if you share it, you link back to this blog post or my deviant art page. Thanks so much!

Ecclesiastes 3:1 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

For everything there is a season,
a right time for every intention under heaven —

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

