Viewpoints and Perspective

Sounds like I’m going to post about art, eh? Not really. This post is about taking in the world around me — and about literature.

We began working our way through the book “Life of Pi” this month and I must confess a certain reluctance. I expected it to be just some story about the survival of man and animal. I’m enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would, especially since the movie trailer didn’t seem too inspiring. When TheRo picked this book to add to our reading list, I had no idea how much of a delight it would be to turn each page.

The Way I See It

What I find most intriguing is his interest in religion. His viewpoint and the way he perceives the world around him is so similar to my own, I find it truly amazing. And for some Christians, that’s probably a scary thought. No, I’m not rejecting what I know in my heart to be true. But I feel that truths are built upon experience which alters perspective. My vision of truth will differ from my neighbor’s. It makes giving my testimony and answering questions difficult. I overthink things, wonder how much to say, or whether I should say anything at all. I’m still filling in the blanks on my own viewpoint concerning religion, or in my case spirituality. I’ve already defined religion in pretty clear terms in my head. It’s really scary for me to share this with you. It’s almost like baring my soul. But what does that have to do with literature and homeschool?

In The Classroom

Back to the literature study, this is a great book to open discussions on worldview. When I was in high school, I took a worldview class during my senior year. I hated it. It was dry and boring. There was no life in it. I think since worldview is formed by experience, it’s better to find ways to incorporate the experiences of a variety of others to open discussions. For our family, and more specifically for me, worldview is born from a Christian upbringing. For my children, this will be similar. I’m enjoying the discussions about Piscine’s perspectives on the world around him.

“I don’t see why I can’t be all three. Mamaji has two passports. He’s Indian and French. Why can’t I be a Hindu, a Christian, and a Muslim?”Life of Pi by Yann Martel, ©2001 by Yann Martel

Help For A Daunting Task

Teaching about worldview can be daunting. If you’d like to read this book with your students and aren’t sure where to start for classroom discussions, you could try these websites. I’ve found them very helpful in jump-starting my own thoughts on a topic or book.

Matthew 7:7 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

“Keep asking, and it will be given to you; keep seeking, and you will find; keep knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

cosmictiger-731195_1920-ID11682-1280x1280

 

Leave a Reply

