A Good Start

What is your definition of “a good start” to the day? Is it a home-cooked farm-style breakfast? Is it a cup of coffee, some toast and a bit of quiet before the daily hustle and bustle begins? What about for your students? How do they describe what’s necessary to start the day well?

Our Good Start

For me, a good start includes:

  1. waking up between 8:00 and 8:30 am
  2. pouring myself a cup of coffee
  3. eating any kind of healthy breakfast food
  4. reading a morning devotional which is based on Bible scriptures
  5. and just lately, I’ve added in a short yoga session

For our girls, a good start includes:

  1. enough time to wake up slowly and, some days, a bit of breakfast (theShi)
  2. enough time for breakfast and a visit to Grannie’s (theRo)
  3. tending to the kitten’s needs
  4. a time of quiet for Bible reading, meditation, and journaling
  5. and sometimes they join me for yoga.

The Why Of It All

One of my parents, usually my mom, read a Bible-based devotional or story to my sister and me each evening before prayers and bedtime. This is something I wanted to pass on to my own children. But I was never really encouraged to do a personal Bible study time, or to write in a journal. Thinking back, I think such a practice would’ve been a great benefit. So now our children have time before school begins to do this.

In the beginning, I was choosing books for them both based on what I saw them saying and doing on a daily basis. That continued until this year. (I’m a little slow to change, I think.) I asked our oldest daughter what topic she’d like to focus on. She chose depression “because I have a lot of friends who have to deal with that.”

Did you know it’s possible to be happy, sad, and proud all at once? When your children display a concern for the well-being of others, it really helps a parent think they did at least some things correctly. I wrote about this last week but finally decided on this book instead.

I feel like this is where it all begins. Depression that hits most young people seems to begin when our hormones start firing off changes we have to get used to. Our moods are strangely affected and it’s hard to get it all straight. When others around us lash out with hurtful words and actions, it makes that burden heavier. This book seemed to focus on ways to overcome that negativity. When theShi has worked her way through to the end, I’ll ask for a review from her to share with you.

I didn’t offer a choice to our youngest. Though she is old enough to choose, there was a need in her life which I saw. I hoped to offer her encouragement to overcome the hardships. If offered a choice, she might choose something which would be interesting but not necessarily relevant to her own need. For her, I chose this book.

OK, I must confess. I had to read the entire cover to see who Sadie Robertson was. I’m not really a Duck Dynasty fan because I don’t enjoy watching reality TV. So I didn’t realize the ‘big name’ significance at first. But the topical studies for each week seemed directly aimed at things she was dealing with now. Some will be helpful for experiences she is certain to encounter in the near future. It’s a win as far as she is concerned because the section divisions are short, as are the question/answer spaces.

If you’d like to know what I read each morning, this is my list.

So Why Do You Do It?

It takes time to read through these things, meditate on them, and think about how it all applies to your life. So why do we take that time to do it? Well, for me, it’s a daily reminder of my purpose. It helps me focus on the character traits I want to practice more often. It encourages me to be a better version of myself. I encourage my girls to do the same.

When we focus on positive things, when we practice positivity, when we focus on how we can change ourselves in order to change the world around us, I think that’s the kind of encouragement this world needs. It won’t happen if I waste valuable time on empty activities. Positive change must start with me, with each of us.

I want to teach my students the importance of such a magnificent power. For us, that includes studying about the God of Abraham and Isaac, and the Messiah Yeshua who came to seek and save those who are lost. It includes prayer time and a time of meditation.

For you, it might look a little different. I’d like to hear how a good school day starts for your homeschool family. Please feel free to share any tips or ideas you find helpful! Thanks for taking the time to read today. You are loved and appreciated.

Buddha Quote 52017

I thought this was appropriate since daily life is a journey of truth-finding. I hope you enjoy the .png file which you are free to download. I made it at http://www.canva.com

Ephesians 3:16 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

16 I pray that from the treasures of his glory he will empower you with inner strength by his Spirit,

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

