Time For Some Shopping!

I usually spend most of the months of May and June shopping for curriculum. If you are one of the homeschool families who live close to where the conventions set up shop, then know that you are BLESSED! I live three hours from either of the two cities which are big enough to host a homeschool convention, but I’ve never heard of them doing so. And it seems like no matter where we live, we still manage to miss them for one reason or another.

“You are blessed!”

What Can You Do?

I do the next best thing. This year, I started a little early and compared prices from my go-to stores via the web. It looks like Christian Book Distributors is going to get most of our business. If you’ve never checked them out before, they offer a pretty nice selection of home education items. I don’t really shop at any store exclusively, and I much prefer shopping with smaller businesses. But the budget is king around here and I still need to make sure I stick to it.

I Like Devotional Books

A few years ago, I started implementing the use of journals to start each school day. Two years ago, I bought devotional books for each of our girls and encouraged them to include a time of Bible reading and meditation during that part of the day.

Our oldest is reading her way through the Bible. She’s not following any set of rules. She’s simply reading what she can in the allotted time. And best of all, she’s loving it! She’s in Deuteronomy and says it’s been her favorite book so far. She also has a heart for people who are hurting: those who struggle with depression, anxiety, self-esteem issues…these are the ones she hurts with. So I’m looking at these two books for her devotion time:

Both authors are well-known to me and I’m certain both of these books would benefit her.

Our youngest daughter is more active and easily distracted. I considered all the different things she likes to do. Surprisingly, I found devotionals for kids who enjoy cooking! Books with shorter meditations which include simple questions, blanks to fill in, or discussion questions are really good for her. I looked at these.

Whether you serve the same God as our family or follow a different path, a time of meditation is pretty important for your overall health.

Organizing That Stuff

How do you keep track of all the interesting curriculum choices you consider for your students? I usually handwrite my lists. Not only does it help me remember the items in the list, it gives me a written record I can go back to later if I have any questions or need to switch to something else. For my readers, I created a Curriculum Shopping List. You can either download a PDF file through the highlighted link below, or click on the png photo beneath it. If my worksheet doesn’t fit your needs, why not check out some of the other layouts in Canva to make one that does?

Curriculum Shopping ListCurriculum Shopping List

Psalm 63:6-7 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

(5) I am as satisfied as with rich food;
my mouth praises you with joy on my lips
(6) when I remember you on my bed
and meditate on you in the night watches.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

Save

One thought on “Time For Some Shopping!

Leave a Reply

