February Literature

Our literature choice for February was Agatha Christie’s “Murder on the Orient Express. I have to say it was one of the most delightful books I’ve read. I love the way it was written and how the story progressed. I found it different than any of the other mystery novels I’ve experienced.

Online Resources

To help us learn more about the author and the book, I found some helpful pdfs and a website online. I’d like to share those today for any teachers who may wish to use this book in their own homeschools.

  1. Activity Worksheet from Penguin Readers – I used this to help the girls review the book. I’d like to make a note: If you do not use the book published by Penguin, the chapters are numbered differently and the questions don’t always line up.
  2. A teacher’s guide from Harper Collins – This pdf is a very nice guide offering lots of options for projects and different kinds of writing exercises. I’d recommend it for 7th grade and up but it could definitely be used as a base to create work projects for younger grades. I didn’t use this teacher guide for MOTOE, but I did use a similar guide for further study of Beowulf. I like how these are set up.
  3. A lesson plan from Harper Collins – This pdf is the once I chose to use for project and activity assignments. I found the activities to be fun for the girls. It’s well thought out and easy to read and understand. I’d recommend it for middle grades and up.
  4. SparkNotes Murder on the Orient Express – I love using the literature pages on the SparkNotes website. Author bios, review questions, themes, discussion questions, quizzes, it’s all there. I use it mainly for the author bios and the chapter summaries but the quiz questions have come in handy for reviewing stories. I’ve used this site for Shakespeare and several other authors and their work. It’s great for middle school and up, in my opinion.

I hope these links will help someone out. I sometimes have difficulty finding free guides to teach the books I choose. I don’t always need bunches of help, but a place like SparkNotes offers a wealth of help for both students and teachers. If I can ease some of the stress by sharing the resources I’ve found, then I’m happy. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Acts 3:6 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

Kefa said, “I don’t have silver, and I don’t have gold, but what I do have I give to you: in the name of the Messiah, Yeshua of Natzeret, walk!”

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

the one bulb light stand alone

Leave a Reply

