Braided Rug Project

One of the projects I added to our art and crafting list this year was a braided rug made from fabric scraps. I guess my love of braided rugs might’ve been instilled by my mother. My love of color and rustic things might’ve come from her, too. Either way, rugs play a pretty important role in our home so the project seemed a great fit in many ways.

The Rug Project I Chose For Us

I’m not sure where I found the original project idea. I’m fairly certain it was the All Free Sewing website. I’m not certain the pattern they have now is the same one I discovered years ago but the process looks similar. It isn’t a quick project. It could even be called tedious. But making a braided rug out of scrap fabric is something lasting a child can remember and hold onto for a long time. (If you click the link, please be aware the site will ask you to subscribe to their newsletter. Since I’m not sure you can see the page if you don’t subscribe, I added lots of other links at the bottom of the page for those who’d rather not.)

What Skills Does Rug Making Teach?

You might be asking what a child could learn from such a project. Here are a few possibilities.

  1. Fine motor skills: Braiding is a skill that could be useful to any person. If your little one has trouble with fine motor skills, this might be a fun way to encourage the refinement they need. Cutting strips of fabric is probably better left to the older student (middle or high school) or an adult. It’s good to have several people cutting and to take breaks. It’s a great lesson in how to pace yourself for large projects.
  2. Color matching: In my opinion, the fun of braided rugs is putting wild and crazy colors and patterns together. A young student could learn the names of different patterns. If you like the colors and patterns to match, you could teach a lesson on how the color wheel helps when you are trying to find coordinating colors.
  3. Patience: It’s a long project. You will be braiding your strips for a while. But the effort you and your student(s) put in will be rewarded in the end by a pretty and useful object.
  4. Sharing and Helping: At first, all young ones enjoy something new. If that something new takes too long to complete, they get bored easily. With this project, you can teach them how sharing and taking turns makes the job easier on everyone.
  5. Conservation: Since the project uses up fabric scraps, you can teach your students how even small bits can be put to good use. Being thrifty is a great way to be good stewards of our planet.

Our project is in the cutting stage now. It may be a while before we even get to start braiding. I’m having a blast cutting strips from scraps of fabric I’ve collected here and there over the years. I’m trying to stick with cotton because I think it will last a bit longer. I can’t wait to see what our rug will look like when it’s done!

2017-03-02-13-47-04

Photo by Melody Kittles – This basket is only part of the fabric scraps we’ll be using. The thinner strips could be used in the modified projects. You do not have my permission to download this photo and/or use it in any projects of any kind.

Other Methods For Making Rugs Out of Scraps

The first three links will open YouTube tutorials. The last link takes you to Wiki How where you can see three different methods of making rag rugs.

Make a tufted fabric scrap rug

Make a crocheted rug from t-shirt strips

Make a no-sew braided rug from t-shirt strips

Wiki How Article on 3 Ways to Make Rag Rugs (This article includes the method we’ll be using to create our braided rag rug (method 3).)

Here’s a link to a tutorial on making pompom rugs. I thought it looked really fun and simple. I know our youngest daughter would enjoy this project. Check it out on YouTube!

Modifications?

I like to modify projects once I figure out the basics. What about trying…

  1. potholders?
  2. placemats?
  3. coasters?

I hope you’ll give one of these rug projects a try.  If you do try one, or if you’ve already created a rug,  I’d love to hear about your experience. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and read today.

Proverbs 31 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

19 She puts her hands to the staff with the flax;
        her fingers hold the spinning rod.
כ 20 She reaches out to embrace the poor
        and opens her arms to the needy.

ל 21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
        since all of them are doubly clothed.
מ 22 She makes her own quilts;
        she is clothed in fine linen and purple.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

