It’s Madness!

Mardi Gras madness, that is! For most of my life, I thought Mardi Gras was unique to Louisiana, at least in the United States. I’ve since learned it’s celebrated in several other states and other parts of the world. I work part-time at a shop that sells costumes for the festival. People come into the shop, see us working and ask what we do the rest of the year. We answer them the same way every time.

“We make Mardi Gras costumes year-round!” – The VaCajun Staff

History In Our Hometown

Mardi Gras does present something unique I can use to teach my children the history of our area. Each town has its own way of celebrating. Some have a typical parade with floats and marching bands and finish out the day with a crazy party and live music. Some of the towns host a traditional Courir de Mardi Gras, or the running of the mardi gras. The closest town to us even includes a boucherie. But all the local celebrations are nothing compared to what happens in New Orleans. It’s interesting to learn about the different ways people celebrate. Even the costume styles vary!

Fitting It All In

I have no excuse for my absence here at the MHSL blog unless exhaustion is an acceptable one. Work at the shop is non-stop during the busy season. Even though I’m a part-timer, I still have school work to do with the kids when I get home. And if that wasn’t enough, I’m working on my first novel. That’s a tightly packed schedule!

Some people ask me how I fit everything in. In Louisiana, we’re required to teach the four core subjects: language arts-math-science-history. The extra things I choose to add to our schedule can be dropped during the months I know are going to be busy. We pick those back up after Mardi Gras and sometimes continue schooling during June and July. This is one the beauties of teaching my children at home. I have room to adjust the schedule if it’s necessary.

Now, I need to get back to my novel. It’s coming along well and I hope to have it published by October. In order to make that happen, I’ll write, write, and write until the letters on my keyboard fade away.

camera_anne_vignette_wispy

I made this mixed media piece for a friend of ours using one of the fabric masks made at the shop where I work. Please do not take my work or my image without my permission. Thanks!

1 Thessalonians 5:16 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

16 Always be joyful.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

