LPL 100 Book Challenge

The Lafayette Public Library is hosting a reading challenge again for 2017. The girls and I have decided to bury our noses in books this year as we strive to meet the goal. I find it interesting how each of us decided to tackle the challenge in different ways.

TheRo Method (Reluctant Reader)

Our youngest isn’t a strong reader, though she improved a lot over the last year and half. She enjoys being read to and also reading aloud. She just doesn’t find it easy to sit still with a book. She also said,

“One hundred books?! That’s a lot! I’ll never be able to do that.” -TheRo Kittles

We decided to set a goal she could easily reach. I think she’ll find it easier than she thinks to read 12 books. It also helps that audio books are accepted ‘books’ for this challenge, as well as manga volumes. She’s starting with those listed below and we’ll work our way up. (A * indicates completed books, a ~ shows books in progress.)

  1. The Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl*
  2. Firefly Hollow by Alison McGhee~
  3. Scooby Doo Mystery Series: The Case of the Seaweed Monster by James Gelsey~

TheShi Method (Avid and Advanced Reader)

Shi loves to read and speeds through books faster than I ever thought of doing in my youth. She was all over this challenge from the moment I suggested it. Her immediate course of action included listing her favorite book series, tallying the number of volumes in each and calculating how many days she’d have to read each one. She’s added 38 books to her list and decided to start with the easiest one first. I’ll list these by series to save you from Death By Word Count. (A * shows completed books, a ~ shows books in progress.)

  1. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket (13 books)***~
  2. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (7 books)
  3. Divergent by Veronica Roth (3 books but not the 4th because, “I’m not really interested in that one right now.”)
  4. Percy Jackson and The Olympians by Rick Riordan (5 books)
  5. The Phoenix Files by Chris Morphew (6 books-It’s the US set.)
  6. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart (4 books)

“I’m not really interested in that one right now.” ~TheShi Kittles

Melody’s Method (Avid Reader who is too busy to read…)

I have to be honest and say I also did the math. And then I thought, “I’m going to kill myself reading.” I honestly don’t know whether I can manage to read that number of books with my full schedule and particular hobbies. I’m also thankful I can count manga volumes. They’ll help me fill in the blanks. I have a few books in my tablet I’ve been trying to work my way through and this challenge is exactly what I needed to push me along. So far, I think I’m in the lead. I doubt it will last, though. Shi has much more time to read than I do. She’ll probably pass me up at some point and I’ll be happy if she does!  Here’s my starter list. (A * indicates books completed, a ~ shows books in progress.)

  1. Pathfinder Tales: Winter Witch by Elaine Cunningham~
  2. Pathfinder Tales: Plague of Shadows by Howard Andrew Jones*
  3. Good Omens by Niel Gaiman and Terry Pratchett~
  4. Too Long In The Sun by Richard M. Rives~
  5. The Demon Prince of Momochi House series by Aya Shouto (7+ volumes)**
  6. Oiran Girl series by Hibiki Wataru (5 volumes)**~
  7. Holiness: It’s Nature, Hindrances, Difficulties, and Roots by J.C. Ryle~
  8. Blood of Requiem: Song of Dragons 1 by Daniel Arenson
  9. The Blackgloom Bounty by Jon F. Baxley
  10. Brinn and the Dragons of Pallan Cliffs by Diana Metz
  11. Call of the Herald by Brian Rathbone
  12. Eon’s Door by J.G. McKenney
  13. Gifted by Liz Long
  14. Hidden Dreams by Kristah Price~

You can find all the unlinked books in my starter list on Amazon in the Kindle section.

“I’m going to kill myself reading.” ~Melody Kittles

Literature Books Count!

We’ll count the rest of the books we’ll be reading for 2017, as well as those we read during the first half of the next school year. Right now, we’re working our way happily through Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne. We’re using the Kindle version.

Does your library or another institution spur reading with a cool challenge? Would you take the challenge if they did? What would your top 3 choices be? Feel free to comment below. We’d love to know!

paper%20journal-id9883-1280x783

Leave a Reply

