Video In The Classroom

I’ve been swamped with activities and holiday happenings lately. I’ll resume regular blog postings next Thursday. Thanks for stopping by and reading! In the interim, please enjoy these videos on various topics that we’ve used in either our regular school studies or art club presentations.

Music Appreciation

I used this video to introduce our music appreciation course this year. I found it fascinating, though it is long. Active students will need it broken down into smaller blocks.

Geography and Cultural Studies

Have you ever wondered how to tie an obi? This is the sash worn around a kimono or yukata in Japan. This video is pleasant to watch and easy to follow if you want to give it a try.

Fine Art

I used this video to introduce our art club members to different ways of creating a background for artwork. It’s easy to understand and while some of the materials she uses are specialized, there are several techniques students could practice applying.

Language Arts: Composition: Creative Writing

Katytastic was easy to watch and easy to understand. The girls and I truly enjoyed her videos. We started with the video on creating characters and outlining but this one is my favorite. I love creating new worlds for the reader to visit!

I hope you find these videos helpful. I’m sorry I haven’t been able to post during the holidays but I’m looking forward to getting back into my routine of posting on Thursdays. See you next time!

Leave a Reply

