From Uncertainty To Success

Recurring Doubts and Reassurances

In our 17 years of home schooling, we ran the gamut of feelings about the topic. So many times I just held my breath mentally and simply waited to see the results of the hard work my husband and I were putting into home school. I asked these questions for so long (and I sometimes still ask myself). After all, circumstances do change and questions are good, right? Have you asked yourself these same questions?

  • Is teaching my children at home really the right thing to do?
  • Are we certain this is the best for our children?
  • Would they gain more by attending the usual type of school?

And we consistently answered ourselves with:

  • Yes.
  • Yes.
  • Not more, simply different gains, and we saw considerable losses possible if we chose to enroll our children in public school.

“Let the naysayers say what they will. Smile and nod if need be. But keep believing in the path you know is right!”

Oh, and the naysayers! Those “helpful” and “concerned” folks who are quite happy giving you advice about how you should raise your children.

  • Why can’t they do their times tables yet?
  • Why aren’t they reading on their own yet?
  • Shouldn’t they be able to do _____ by now?

Those kind of comments are not helpful, not encouraging. They are certainly not wanted. If there are other mom’s out there like me, they’ll understand when I say I’ve already pestered myself a million times or more with those same questions and at least another hundred those “concerned citizens” didn’t even think of. These are my children after all and I do want them to be able to reach those lofty dreams of theirs. Those kinds of comments make a person like me doubt myself even more! And on top of it all, those comments make me feel like no one believes in me except for myself. Let the naysayers say what they will. Smile and nod if need be. But keep believing in the path you know is right for you and your children!

I can’t speak for others, but I can certainly tell you I still struggle against baseless worries about whether I’ve done a good job as a mom and a teacher for my children. There’s nothing quite like the feeling of seeing your son who struggled to read as a young learner graduate from his technical college as one of only three honor roll students in his class. There’s no sense of relief quite like that which comes from knowing he now has a great job with an awesome company and can provide for his new wife and their future children. And there’s nothing like the sense of accomplishment you feel when you see the glow of pride on his face when he gets that degree.

Way to go, Noah! You worked hard. You stuck with it. And you got it done right.

Yes, I’m proud of our son who was that struggling reader, that reluctant learner. He’d rather run around barefoot, tramping through the grass or mud. He’d rather hang out with his Granddaddy, drive the tractor and help out in the pasture and garden. He’d rather play World of Tanks or World of Warcraft.

“But in all those “rathers”, there was learning going on.”

But in all those “rathers”, there was learning going on. The games helped with his reading comprehension and typing skills. You can’t play an MMO without being able to chat clearly and quickly with your team, crew or questing party. World of Tanks also helped with World War 1 & 2 history. Tending a garden is biology in study and practice. Fixing and driving a tractor is mechanical study. He always did the seatwork reluctantly but he did it.

Our Glorious Result

What does he have to show for it? A cap and gown, a degree, and a silver cord! What do we gain from all this? The satisfaction of a job well done! So you parents out there who are teaching your reluctant learners at home, keep at it! Don’t give up! You know your child best, after all. Work with their strengths and learn about new ways to overcome their weaknesses. Experiment with methods to incorporate learning from other areas of life. Boxes are for internet shops! Let your child be who they want to be and watch them soar to meet their dreams.

Philippians 3:14 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

14 I keep pursuing the goal in order to win the prize offered by God’s upward calling in the Messiah Yeshua.

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

graduation2016header

Graduation 2016 Header – created by Melody Kittles

Leave a Reply

