Study Tip #1

I remember when I was in school how hard it was to convince my mom I found it easier to study with music on. She remained unconvinced. Now, our oldest daughter is experiencing the same thing. I still find that music with a steady rhythm helps me focus and get into a rhythm of my own. So today, I’d like to share some of the instrumental music I enjoy and some of the bands John and our daughters enjoy listening to while they works.

TheShi Recommends

The Proof of Your Love – by For King & Country

Ceasefire – by For King & Country

Car Radio – by Twenty One Pilots (I apologize if I typed their band name incorrectly.)

TheRo Recommends

Clint Eastwood – by Gorillaz

Speak Life – by Toby Mac

Can’t Hold Us – by Macklemore

While the girls and John prefer listening to individual songs, I prefer listening to hour-long music mixes or albums that are mostly instrumental, or done in foreign languages I’m totally unfamiliar with. I find that if I know the lyrics, it’s highly likely my brain will latch on to the lyrics and distract me.

Melody Recommends

Blissful Solitude – put out by one of my favorite YouTube channels, Fluidified.

Aurora 2 chillstep mix – put out by another of my favorite YouTube channels, Pulse8.

Seven Seas album – by Emancipator – one of my favorite ambient music artists whose work is available to purchase!

John Recommends

Animals album – by Pink Floyd

Meddle album – by Pink Floyd

Stereotype Be album – by Kevin Max

Family Favorite

Oskar Schuster – We absolutely recommend this composer. His work is thought-provoking and beautifully rhythmic.

I apologize for the not-so-regular postings. Now that NaNoWriMo is done, I will be able to post on Thursdays as I was doing before. Thanks for sticking with me and reading about our schooling journey.

Psalm 81:3 Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)

(2) Start the music! Beat the drum!
Play the sweet lyre and the lute!

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

20151010_184459

TheRo learning some basic guitar chords last year. – photo by Melody Kittles

Leave a Reply

